PDA

View Full Version : Important! Boxing and Kickboxing

mbt9000
Sep 18, 2010, 09:28 PM
hello,
well my old thread about shotokan karate is history now, because the gym that i was going to has closed down, so recently ive been doing boxing and kickboxing 5 days a week, and ive been doing it for nearly 3 months,
the gym i go to is run by 3 champions and 1 kickboxing world champ who also has records for european title etc,
i full contact spar around 3-5 days a week, and the schedule is this

6am - 4pm college, 5pm - 7.15pm (mon, wed, fri - boxing)
7:30pm - 9:15pm (tue, thur - kickboxing)

i need a few questions that has been bothing me awhile

1. my recent spar was with a guy with heavy hands, and he was going for the KO, he didnt knock me out or down and i stood my ground, but the instructor that was watching says he won the bout while the second judge said he didnt (he told me privatly that they said he won because he had a fight coming up soon and wanted to build his confidence up) but still how can i stop the anger and regret of losing? it really bugs me badly!

2. im still big now but im wanting to get smaller and faster, any ways of increasing my punching speed?

3. any good at home tips on bobbing and weaving and rolling etc, because im a big enthusiast when it comes to defense,

4.how can i increase my offense, im not scared but i must have balls to get into the ring with bigger and better guys and stand my ground etc, and i know im not chicken because i hit back and go on offense alittle and stand toe 2 toe with the guy and takes his best and still keep coming, but im always on defense which sometimes can be a disadvantage so how can i work on my offense so i can rush them whilst not been open to attack or a knockout shot?
or is it best to be on defense and move around the ring and slip jabs etc and wait for an opening?