PDA

View Full Version : How long can you hold a horse-stance?

CDavidNeely
Jan 29, 2009, 07:09 AM
Greetings,

My MA training is heavily layered with traditional methods of training. I still remember spending a long time in stance training. I used to hate horse stance training. This is a horse stance if you don't know what I am talking about:
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/d/db/Mabu_posture.gif

Here is the question. Get into a deep horse stance and hold it. It is not as easy as it looks. How long can you hold that position. My record is 27 minutes but my legs were shaking so had that I couldn't walk for a few minutes.

David

Ironmunki
Jan 29, 2009, 08:33 AM
Back when I got my first degree black belt in kung fu (Tien Shen Pai), one of the requirements for black belt candidates was to hold a "proper" horse stance for 20 mins. At my test some of the guys who were already black belts would come and "check" your stance by kicking your legs or trying to topple you with a push but the worst was when someone would grab a long staff and lay it across your thighs. This would force you to stay at at least 90 degrees or the staff would fall to the floor. If you came out of your stance your test was done and you'd have to wait again until the next cycle. There were many other challenges and restrictions that candidates faced before reaching this one and believe me no one wanted to repeat cycle but still the horse stance (ma bu stance) was the challenge that stopped many a would be black belt. Since those days the school has removed the 20 min ma bu stance requirement. Perhaps to retain more students because in the end a martial arts school is a business and while I'm sure every master would love to have only have die-hard students as his disciples this is just not as profitable.